A post-Christmas breakfast.

tahini toast 1

This Christmas was exhausting.  Wonderful and exhausting.  In the few days leading up to Christmas, I spent a lot of time with my mom, aunt, and cousin shopping, cooking, eating grapefruit, and doing puzzles together (on top of working my usual 8 hours a day).  Christmas morning we got up early, made cinnamon rolls and fried pepper bacon, opened stockings, and unwrapped gifts.  My cousin created a really nice Christmas for all of us.

But after dropping my mom off at the airport yesterday, I immediately came home and napped for two hours.  I left a friend’s Christmas dinner party early last night, was asleep by 10 pm, and slept until almost 10 am.  It was wonderful.  Magical.

I woke up feeling I could take on the world.  But instead I made breakfast and enjoyed it in the sunshine pouring through the kitchen windows.tahini toast 2

 


Tahini Toast with Honey

serves 1

  • 1 slice of hearty bread
  • 1 glob of tahini (~1 1/2 tablespoons)
  • Honey
  • Honey salt (or plain kosher or sea salt)

Toast your bread well, or to your liking.  Spread with the tahini and drizzle with honey.  Sprinkle with a tiny pinch of salt.  I used honey salt – thanks Santa!  Serve with a cup of warm tea or coffee and enjoy slowly.


 

-Emily

One thought on “A post-Christmas breakfast.

Leave a Reply

